top of page
  • Alyssa Pringle

5 on the go healthy snacks for you OR your toddler

Hey guys!

This is my first blog post about food. With school just starting and work/school schedules being HECTIC, I wanted to provide you guys with a few snack ideas that are not only healthy, but extremely easy and totally portable for those of you with messy toddlers like me.

I'm going to list my 5 go to "on the go" snacks, AND things to look out for when purchasing these snacks at the store.

So, here goes:

1. Carrot chips and Hummus

This is incredibly yummy and a GREAT way to get some RAW veggies into your diet. You can keep the hummus in a small container with a lid to keep it mess free. One thing I recommend, if you are watching out for soy (like I do for reasons I will explain one day) please read your hummus ingredients, as some include SOY.

2. Fruits with a natural wrapper

These are my favorite, because you don't even have to put them in a container or Tupperware. Fruits like, Bananas and oranges are so so sooooo easy to just take and go! One thing I make sure too look for is organic fruit, to ensure I'm feeding my body as well as my children's , the best quality food we have access to.

3. Dried fruits

Okay guys, dried fruits are AMAZING. They are so easy and yummy! I love dates, raisins and dried pineapple. Dehydrating your own fruit is always your best bet, but hey life gets busy and sometimes we just don't have time to do all that crap so buying store bought is another option. When you buy store bought PLEASE look a the ingredients. Sulfur dioxide is used in so many dried fruit brands to preserve color (like please, I don't care about color I want NATURAL). Sulfur dioxide you ask? Here is the definition: "Sulfur dioxide is the chemical compound with the formula SO 2. At standard atmosphere, it is a TOXIC gas with a pungent, irritating smell. The triple point is 197.69 K and 1.67 kPa. It is released naturally by volcanic activity" Just avoid it guys, look for organic, preservative free.

4. DIY easy peasy trail mix

Throw some almonds, dried berries, toasted coconut and vegan chocolate chips in a zip lock bag- and there ya go! My son loves when I take trail mix with us. It's so fun and gives you some energy to get you through!

5. Seaweed wraps

Most, natural food stores have seaweed. Sea weed is actually essential to our diet (I need to eat more of it). It has lots of fiber, Vitamin A B C and E, Omega-3 fatty acids, lots of calcium and iodine, a nutrient essential to our diets!

I hope this helped give you at least a starting point for some clean snacks!

What are some of your favorite clean eating snacks!?

Yours Truly,

Lyss! xoxo


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page