top of page
  • Alyssa Pringle

I got a taste of imperfection

Today, I'm writing something a little more personal than my usual post. So, brace yourself, this post is going to be lengthy (you were warned). Today, I'm sharing my journey through motherhood and how I had to rid myself of the "perfect family" we ladies often dream about. The reason I am writing is so you know, where my heart is and WHY I am so passionate. So, here goes;

When I became pregnant with Easton, Brody was 9 months old. He was the perfect baby, or maybe he was just normal? But, he hardly cried, he met every milestone ahead or on time. He ate all of his veggies, and went to bed without a fuss. Which is why I never thought twice about any imperfections with Easton.

My pregnancy with Easton went great. I gained 17 lbs, remained active and ate (mostly) healthy. My delivery? Even better. My water broke and within an hour of getting to the hospital my baby boy was in my hands. I had no epidural, no meds and I felt amazing. Breastfeeding went extremely well, he latched on perfectly, and I had no doubts this baby boy was going to be strong, healthy and perfect.

2 month check up came around and Easton was still doing amazing. We questioned the hell out of vaccines (which is why we stopped giving Brody vaccines at 4 months old). But, of coarse the Dr. insisted we protect our baby boy. I felt like I was disappointing this Dr. by questioning her. I felt her getting upset with me. But, I said no. I wanted to look into it more. I switched Dr.s because I thought maybe the next one would be a little more open to us not vaccinating.

So, 4 month checkup came around and we told him our concerns with vaccines. But he(basically) told us, it was SCIENTIFICALLY proven that all of our concerns were just a bunch of bull and that these vaccines were perfectly SAFE. I decided, to just do it. I wanted to be a good mom. Nothing would happen anyways, right? Wrong.

That day he was sick. He had a fever, and my happy baby couldn't even keep his eyes open, his poor little body was exhausted. But, apparently this is just something that "normally" happens when you get shot up with aluminum and formaldehyde. Weeks went by, and his skin started getting red and raw everywhere. He looked like a giant scab. My heart broke every time I looked at him.

He was in so much pain that he didn't want to move, and he was falling behind. I tried coconut oil, cetaphil, vaseline, and literally everything. I had people ask me "what's wrong with your baby?". Then one day it hit me, that it wasn't like that until he got vaccinated.

PREVAX:

At his 6 month appointment the Dr. told me we needed to put him on a steroid because he was in extreme pain and his skin was HORRIBLE. Covered head to to (literally his toes were raw) in wet, infected eczema. I told him we were NOT doing vaccines, and his skin got terrible after vaccines. He told me vaccines would NEVER do that and I needed to be a better parent and protect my children, then proceeded to walk out (BYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE).

I had never felt so alone as a mother. Nobody understood, and I constantly had to explain to people what was wrong with my baby. I spent lots of time crying after trips to the store where people would just stare. Soon enough though I stopped feeling sorry and decided I was going to heal him, and I wouldnt stop until i did. I started school, learning about holistic healing, I stopped taking my son to the pediatricians and I worked damn hard spending long nights doing research and taking notes. Today, my son is almost completely healed. I feel so proud and passionate as a mother, that I followed my gut.I want to help others, which is why I created this blog. Food can heal, heck your body can heal itself and I am going to share as much as I possibly can.. I got hit hard with imperfection, but guess what? That's being a mom, ACCEPTING your baby for who they are, not caring what anyone has to say, and fighting for your child. Things don't always turn out how you want them to be, sometimes you have to fight for it.

My son Today:


649 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page